Money sucks?

6 Feb

Today, in class, Gary shared his life experience and the wisdom he gathered so far.
The list goes like this:
1. Gather experience wherever possible
2. Meet people and learn how to use the phone
3. Leave the Comfort Zone – have faith in your abilities
4. Money sucks
5. Avoid competition – set your own goal
6. Follow your intuition
7. Treat everyone equally
8. Don’t hold grudges
9. Follow fate, don’t fight it
10. Happiness is all about dealing with disappointments

They sound like good advices. I agree with almost all of them. But, I think the point ‘money sucks’ is not really applicable for everyone (certainly not for me).   

I understand the point that we should not get too obsessed with money and let our materialistic desires spiral up uncontrollably. I do believe in living humbly, and in being thankful for whatever we have and not only concentrating in whatever we do not have.

However, I think only people who have ever experienced having excessive money can ever feel and say ‘money sucks’. Any homeless, any poor student who can’t continue study because he/she can’t pay the school fee, any parent with sick child will easily show the importance of money.

The effect may be less dramatic in the UK as strong laws are imposed and various social securities are available for the people; but in many other countries, no money means you are going to die and noone will help you. During my visit to a hospital back home, I heard that an accident victim was left at hospital corridor without treatment – until his family came with money – because the hospital could not afford any ‘freerider’.

Perhaps, the value of money is not in the number itself, but in how it is viewed and used. If, instead of buying the latest sport car, the money is used to help others, perhaps the pleasure derived from it will be more fulfilling.

Money should not be the center of one’s life, but I can’t deny that it is indeed an essential mean to continue living.

5 Responses to “Money sucks?”

  1. GJM February 7, 2007 at 6:20 pm #

    In my defence… I used ‘money sucks’ as a subtitle but then I qualified it by saying – something like – ‘in my experience, the endless pursuit of more and more money brought me no extra happiness.’

    I agree entirely with your comments above. Money CAN be a wonderful thing if used wisely and, most importantly, shared a little more equally.

  2. mariani February 9, 2007 at 10:23 pm #

    Point taken, Gary.

    But, it still didn’t really feel good with ‘money sucks’ phrase. Let’s see what I’ll think of the phrase when I’m 30-something.
    😀

  3. isadikin February 11, 2007 at 1:12 pm #

    are you sure gary is the wisest guy in this world? most probably he failed miserably in his effot to get rich and make “money sucks” his self consolation. i failed miserably in my effort to get rich but i don’t stop trying 😀

  4. isadikin February 11, 2007 at 1:18 pm #

    “5. Avoid competition – set your own goal” ??

    im sorry for gary. he gives up already.

  5. mariani February 11, 2007 at 2:45 pm #

    Hahaha…Gary already worked hard and experienced earning a lot of money in his 20s. Then he found that a lot of money didn’t make him happier. He said that looking back, he thought that was the most miserable time of his life because he was consumed by consumerism.

    Now I guess he is earning less (a big big question here) but he is happier because, I suppose, he works for causes that he think are right.

    Anyway, I think the ‘money sucks’ is a dramatise version of this realisation.

    Avoid competition was meant for the class…to avoid competition with each other and concentrate on improving oneself. I guess it works pretty well to lift the extra pressure when I saw that others got better marks.

Leave a Reply

