come out to light

9 Aug

As I am researching about immigrants in the UK, I found one thing that was rather difficult to comprehend: Everyone is willing to talk to me, except the Chinese groups. The EU high commissioner was on holiday but quick to reply to ask me to schedule an slot with his PA, a professor at the university was really helpful, a Chinese researcher told me his phone number, another Chinese writer did the same.

Trying to reach the Chinese support groups, I found out that it was almost so much tougher. They either missed the appointment time, said they were very busy or just told me a plain “No. I cant help you.” Even the free legal helpline for Chinese migrant, during phone-in time, was too busy to accept my request for a 10-minute chat on how they are helping the migrants. The officer told me, “Just send in your questions and let’s see who will reply you.” My plea for a possible name I can contact was plainly declined as well. It has been a week and I don’t think there is much hope for any reply.

My resentment has been building up in me because I think they have been so silly. They should have talked to people about what they are actually doing because what they are doing is actually good – nothing to be covered up or ashamed of.

But I thought probably they just did not appreciate student.
So when I read this article (here) published in the Independent about how silent Chinese communities are when there were illegal migrants accidents, I understood that it was not about me, but about them.

As an Asian and an ethnic Chinese myself, I understand the mindset of living behind the show-curtain. We are not very active, we play down our problems and our achievements, we are more acceptance to our situation and, most time, more passive. But living here for a year and see how people here behave, I do see the virtue of standing up for yourself (not bragging but just telling the truth of what you are capable), of human right, and of (yes, you read it correctly) public relations.

As much as, I think, there are things beyond Shaolin Kungfu that the West can learn from the East; there are more that the East can learn from the West, beyond McDonald’s, Gucci and Mercedes.

The article (here) highlights the question I as a Chinese ethnic myself can’t understand.

Leave a Reply

